Musings / Table Tennis

All or nothing. A tale of a girl, 4 bats, 8 weeks and $200

image
Milli Vanilli sum up my personality best with their lipsynched, hit song of the 80’s ‘All or nothing’ or AON for short. That’s how I roll, with everything that I’ve got to give or in some situations nothing at all. This personality trait applies to not only how I conduct myself in everyday life but also spills over to how I view acquiring possessions. I accumulate. If I’m going to buy something it generally has to be at least a pair, triplicate or in bulk. I mean why have just one when you can negotiate the price down for more, right?!

Some critics – parents, friends, family, – argue that I’m a crazy hoarder, however I like to think of myself as a skilled procurer.

Pop quiz.

Question: What do you get with an AON girl slash ultimate consumer, whose goal is to be a brilliant table tennis player?

Answer: A never satisfied, highly skilled procurer of table tennis equipment. That’s me.

It’s been nearly 8 weeks and in that time I have purchased 3 premade TT bats. Today I decided I wanted to go ‘next level’ and with the advice of my trusty coach Rodney, I now possess the one blade to rule them all: a beautiful custom made, 729 Chinese branded carbon/wood mix blade with 729 rubber and Sugar taped edges. Did I mention it is purple?!

I’m in love, crazy in love.

For those unaware of the difference between a premade versus custom made bat, let me use an illustratration by comparing buying Mc Donalds versus eating at a Michelin star restaurant. The former, premade and mass produced does the business and is adequate however the latter is a culinary experience, each ingredient carefully selected, prepared and tailored to delight the individual.

And let me tell you, I’m delighted. Custom made baby, it’s up there with eating at a restaurant owned by Gordon Ramsey.

So without further ado, I present my new bat in all its glory.
image

Now from the side.
image

How about laying flat.
image

And now laying flat on its original box.
image

image

These are the 729 rubbers she/he/it is adorned in plus a new case.
image

It has only been 4 hours and I am yet to name her/him/it. I’m taking suggestions for names, so please feel free to comment down below, Facebook, tweet or email me with your ideas.

On another note I am also selling my 2 week old, awesome Globe bat. I paid $50 and am giving it away for only $40. I’ll throw in 2 rubber protectors too – because I’m nice! Contact me via any of the methods listed above for more information. Sorry I am only able to deliver within New Zealand.

If you want a professional to help you select a bat please visit http://www.rodneystabletennis.co.nzhttp://www.rodneystabletennis.co.nz

One thought on “All or nothing. A tale of a girl, 4 bats, 8 weeks and $200

Leave a Reply

