Nutrition

Drugged up: How stress, cortisol and carb’s are keeping me fat.

I am a human vacuum cleaner. The last two, alright more like four weeks, I have been devouring everything in my path.  Sweet, sweeeet fried chicken coated in the Colonel’s 11 herbs and spices, delicious cream packed Indian curries, Chinese banquets, enough rice to feed a rugby team, mochaccino’s of death every week day and bread, lots of bread, and that’s just the beginning.

My body has been craving carbohydrates like a mo’ fo’, and normally my resistance is steadfast, alas this last month I’ve faltered. As you well know, I’ve gone through some challenging times as of late and my nutrition has suffered along with my training. And the worst part is that I am allergic to almost all of it. Dairy, gluten, wheat and rice all make me either break out in a rash and/or I experience excruciating stomach pain. But do you think any of that was a deterrent? Hell no, I endured the pain, itched the ugly rashes and I’m just going to say I was on drugs, that’s right drugs, the dopamine made me do it.

Interesting point, I saw my trainer/nutritionist on the weekend and she explained that apparently the carb’ cravings were my bodies way of self medicating to help deal with my high stress levels. My body basically took affirmative action to deal with the stress because I wasn’t, and carbs helped to numb the ‘self inflicted’ pain.

The human body is brilliantly designed and trust me, it will fight back if you are unkind to yourself. Take me for example, I have burnt out, made a debut hospital visit, have knee and shoulder injuries and now my back and upper torso are a pin cushion of pain. 80 percent of this is a direct result of stress.

Sobering statistics, friends.

So, I’ve been a pig. Eaten everything I shouldn’t have and knowing full well what the repercussions were. In my defence I am, and always have been oblivious to my stress levels until it’s too late, but that’s going to change, oh yes.

What baffles me though, is that despite these atrocious eating habits I have somehow managed to lose 2kgs in the last two weeks. Crazy, right? I can’t figure it out, but I’m not going to question it, I am just gonna roll with it.

What have I learnt from this experience is that;

  1. I need to identify stress before my body starts kicking my arse.
  2. When I feel the stress creeping up, how can I effectively deal with it?
  3. Fast food, bread, rice, gluten and dairy are all the enemy.
  4. Had I been eating properly, just imagine how much weight I could have lost!?

But that’s as far as I have gotten.

I’m unsure of how exactly I identify stress, like how do I know what the signs are if I have never had a clue? It’s a bit of a conundrum and I am giving this some deep thought to come up with a solution. Bottom line is, I have to. Stress is not good for you, but it also produces higher levels of cortisol in your body and cortisol makes you fat! So if I can’t control my stress, I’m going to stay fat and this defeats the whole purpose of what I am trying to achieve.

The next week is all about rumination, figuring out when I am stressed and dealing with it immediately. If you have any ideas or tips on how I could do this or what works for you, I would love to hear them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

